The Old Coach
Article Statewide

Three TXHSFB QBs make the Elite 11

The Elite 11 is the most prestigious event in the nation for up and coming quarterbacks. Since 1999 quarterbacks all around America battle it out at regional competitions for the opportunity to compete at the Elite 11 finals. Once there, only 11 will make the final cut.

This year, the finals consisted of 20 quarterbacks who will be seniors in 2020. Seven Texas High School quarterbacks made the final cut to show off in Nashville for the finals

Dematrius Davis Jr., North Shore, Auburn Commit

Kyron Drones, Shadow Creek, Baylor Commit

Grayson James, John Paul II, Uncommitted

Maddox Kopp, St. Thomas, Uncommitted

Behren Morton, Eastland, Texas Tech Commit

Garrett Nussmeier, Marcus, LSU Commit

Kaidon Salter, Cedar Hill, Tennessee Commit

After the three day competition, an MVP was crowned by Trent Dilfer. Caleb Williams out of Gonzaga High School in Washington D.C. won the Elite 11 MVP. He went in arguably as the favorite and came out on top.

Shortly after, the final 11 were selected as via the Elite 11 twitter account, the list was determined by 50% of junior season film and 50% camp evaluation.

Three were three Texas High School quarterbacks that made the cut.

Kyron Drones, Garrett Nussmeier, and Kaidon Salter. At the end of Day two, Drones sat at number five in the rankings while Nussmeier sat at six. St. Thomas quarterback, Maddox Kopp sat at 11 after an impressive first day showing where he beat Caleb Williams and former Elite 11 MVP, Justin Fields in the first competition.

Prior to the last workout, Drones sat at six and Nussmeier at seven. They both did enough to stay in, Salter did enough to get in.

Those three will be immortalized as members of the 2020 Elite 11 brotherhood.

The full list is as follows:

Tyler Buchner, Helix (CA), Notre Dame Commit

Kyron Drones, Shadow Creek, Baylor Commit 

Tyler Macon, East St. Louis (IL), Missouri Commit

Drake Maye, Myers Park (NC), North Carolina Commit

JJ McCarthy, IMG Academy (FL), Michigan Commit

Kyle McCord, St. Joseph’s (PA), Ohio State Commit

Miller Moss, Mater Dei (CA), USC Commit

Garrett Nussmeier, Marcus, LSU Commit

Kaidon Salter, Cedar Hill, Tennessee Commit

Ty Thompson, Mesquite (AZ), Oregon Commit

Brock Vandagriff, Prince Ave Christian (GA), Georgia Commit

Caleb Williams, Gonzaga (DC), Uncommitted

Related posts

The Old Coach Week 2 Statewide Coverage Schedule

Nick Walters

Week 8 – Professor’s Picks: Every game in North Texas in 6A-2A

Matt Diggs

TXHSFB STATE : Katy Paetow vs College Station

Arath Brito

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More